Small Logo for Upanishada -


How many Smruti in Sanatana Dharma?

In Sanatana Dharma, there are several Smritis, which are secondary texts that provide guidelines and rules for religious and social practices. Unlike the Shruti texts (Vedas and Upanishads), which are considered divinely revealed and authorless, the Smritis are attributed to specific sages or scholars who compiled and codified the principles and practices of Hindu society. The exact number of Smritis may vary depending on different sources and traditions. However, some of the most well-known and widely accepted Smritis include:

  1. Manu Smriti (also known as Manusmriti or Laws of Manu)
  2. Yajnavalkya Smriti
  3. Narada Smriti
  4. Parashara Smriti
  5. Vishnu Smriti
  6. Katyayana Smriti
  7. Brihaspati Smriti
  8. Daksha Smriti
  9. Sankha-Likhita Smriti
  10. Apastamba Smriti

These Smritis cover a wide range of topics including social structure, governance, laws, ethics, rituals, and personal conduct. They serve as important sources of guidance for Hindus in matters of family life, marriage, inheritance, caste duties, religious rituals, and more. The Smritis are considered authoritative texts and have influenced the development of Hindu society, customs, and practices over centuries.

It’s important to note that the Smritis are not considered on par with the Shruti texts in terms of scriptural authority, but they are still valued and consulted by scholars, priests, and individuals seeking to understand and follow the religious and social principles of Sanatana Dharma.

But, Still its not all… We can learn more about Smrities then we got some more….

Here is a list of some of the well-known Smritis in Sanatana Dharma:

  1. Manu Smriti (Laws of Manu)
  2. Yajnavalkya Smriti
  3. Narada Smriti
  4. Parashara Smriti
  5. Vishnu Smriti
  6. Katyayana Smriti
  7. Brihaspati Smriti
  8. Daksha Smriti
  9. Sankha-Likhita Smriti
  10. Apastamba Smriti
  11. Gautama Smriti
  12. Vasishtha Smriti
  13. Baudhayana Smriti
  14. Angirasa Smriti
  15. Shatatapa Smriti
  16. Vyasa Smriti
  17. Samvarta Smriti
  18. Harita Smriti
  19. Vyaghra Smriti
  20. Atri Smriti
  21. Hārīta Smriti
  22. Saunaka Smriti
  23. Vaikhānasasmṛti
  24. Krishi Parashara Smriti
  25. Usana Smriti

Please note that this is not an exhaustive list, and there may be other regional or lesser-known Smritis as well. Additionally, the ordering and classification of the Smritis may vary in different traditions and schools of thought.

The Smritis provide valuable insights into the social, ethical, and religious aspects of Hindu society and serve as important guidelines for personal conduct, rituals, and governance. They have played a significant role in shaping the customs, practices, and laws followed by Hindus throughout history.

Here are some additional regional or lesser-known Smritis:

  1. Vashishta Dharmasutra
  2. Ashvalayana Dharmasutra
  3. Harita Dharmasutra
  4. Kaudinya Dharmasutra
  5. Dakshinagni Dharmasutra
  6. Brahma Dharmasutra
  7. Sankha Dharmasutra
  8. Vaikhanasa Dharmasutra
  9. Samkhyayana Dharmasutra
  10. Jatukarna Dharmasutra
  11. Vaikhanasasmriti
  12. Dravida Smriti
  13. Kashmiri Smriti
  14. Dharma Bindu Smriti
  15. Pithapuram Smriti
  16. Saura Smriti
  17. Vriddha Harita Smriti
  18. Atreya Smriti
  19. Likhita Smriti
  20. Ashvamedhika Smriti
  21. Bhavishya Purana (also contains Smriti portions)
  22. Garuda Purana (also contains Smriti portions)

Please note that the availability and recognition of these regional or lesser-known Smritis may vary, and they may not have the same level of widespread acceptance as the well-known Smritis. Nonetheless, they represent different perspectives and regional customs within Sanatana Dharma and contribute to the diversity of Hindu traditions.

It’s important to consult with qualified scholars and experts in the specific region or tradition to understand the relevance and application of these lesser-known Smritis in their respective contexts.

Editor – Kaalchakra Team

[ Note – Before Concluding anything as a Finale, Please Go through Original Scriptures of Vaidik Literature Written in Sanskrit and Also with Meaning of That time of Language. Because English is a Limited language to Explaining the Deeper Knowledge of Vaidik Kaal. ]

Please note that the estimated time periods and author attributions are based on traditional beliefs and textual analysis, and there may be variations in scholarly opinions regarding the exact dating and authorship of these texts.