Small Logo for Puranas -

Maha Puranas

Classification – According to the Three Gunas or Qualities


The Mahapuranas, a collection of eighteen major Puranas, can also be classified according to the three gunas or qualities of Hindu philosophy. These gunas are sattva (truth, purity), rajas (dimness, passion), and tamas (darkness, ignorance). This classification sheds light on the predominant qualities and themes found within each group of Puranas. This article explores the classification of Mahapuranas based on the three gunas, highlighting the Puranas associated with sattva, rajas, and tamas.

Puranas Associated with Sattva Guna:

The Puranas classified under the sattva guna represent qualities of truth, purity, and enlightenment. These Puranas emphasize devotion, righteous conduct, and spiritual wisdom. The Puranas associated with sattva guna are:

  • Vishnu Purana
  • Bhagavata Purana
  • Naradeya Purana
  • Garuda Purana
  • Padma Purana
  • Varaha Purana

Puranas Associated with Rajas Guna:

The Puranas classified under the rajas guna embody qualities of passion, dynamism, and activity. They explore various divine exploits, heroic deeds, and vibrant narratives. The Puranas associated with rajas guna are:

  • Brahma Purana
  • Brahmānda Purana
  • Brahma Vaivarta Purana
  • Markandeya Purana
  • Bhavishya Purana
  • Vamana Purana

Puranas Associated with Tamas Guna:

The Puranas classified under the tamas guna reflect qualities of darkness, ignorance, and primal forces. They delve into mythological stories, rituals, and aspects of divine destruction and transformation. Puranas associated with tamas guna are:

  • Matsya Purana
  • Kurma Purana
  • Linga Purana
  • Shiva Purana
  • Skanda Purana
  • Agni Purana

Significance and Themes:

The classification of Mahapuranas according to the three gunas provides a deeper understanding of the qualities and characteristics associated with each group. The sattva guna Puranas focus on spiritual knowledge, devotion, and ethical conduct. The rajas guna Puranas emphasize heroic tales, divine exploits, and dynamic narratives. The tamas guna Puranas explore themes of destruction, transformation, and ritualistic aspects of the divine.


The classification of Mahapuranas based on the three gunas offers a unique perspective on the qualities and themes prevalent in these sacred texts. The sattva guna Puranas inspire seekers to cultivate purity, truth, and spiritual wisdom. The rajas guna Puranas captivate with dynamic narratives and heroic tales, encouraging an active engagement with the divine. The tamas guna Puranas delve into the transformative and ritualistic aspects of Hindu mythology. Together, these classifications deepen our understanding of the diverse dimensions of the Mahapuranas and their significance within Hindu religious and philosophical traditions.

Editor – Kaalchakra Team

[ Note – Before Concluding anything as a Finale, Please Go through Original Scriptures of Vaidik Literature Written in Sanskrit and Also with Meaning of That time of Language. Because English is a Limited language to Explaining the Deeper Knowledge of Vaidik Kaal. ]