Small Logo for Puranas -

Explain all Minor Purana

Sthala, Kula, and Minor Upapuranas Also called Aupapuranas or Atipuranas.

Puranas are a genre of ancient Hindu texts that contain a wide range of topics including mythology, cosmology, genealogy, legends, and moral teachings. There are 18 major Puranas, but in addition to these, there are several minor or subsidiary Puranas known as Upapuranas or Aupapuranas. Here is a brief explanation of the Puranas you mentioned:

Brhaddharma Purana:

This Purana focuses on dharma (righteousness) and provides guidelines for leading a virtuous life.

Gaṇesa Purana:

It narrates the birth, exploits, and significance of Lord Ganesha, the elephant-headed deity.

Maudgalya Purana:

This Purana revolves around the sage Maudgalya and includes teachings on rituals, sacrifices, and religious duties.

Kalkya Purana:

It glorifies Lord Vishnu and describes the avataras (incarnations) of Lord Vishnu, including Lord Rama and Lord Krishna.

Ṣivarahasya Purana:

This Purana is dedicated to Lord Shiva and explores various aspects of his divine nature.

Kriyayogasara Purana:

It elucidates the practice of Kriya Yoga, a form of yoga that combines physical postures, breath control, and meditation.

Yuga Purana:

This Purana provides information about the four yugas (ages) in Hindu cosmology: Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dvapara Yuga, and Kali Yuga.

Lakṣmi Purana:

It venerates the goddess Lakshmi, the Hindu deity of wealth and prosperity, and describes her birth and manifestations.

Bhavisyottara Purana:

This Purana is considered a supplement to the major Bhavishya Purana and contains predictions about future events.

Devanga Purana:

It deals with various religious rituals, customs, and practices.

Siva Purana:

This extensive Purana narrates the stories and legends associated with Lord Shiva, his manifestations, and his devotees.

Nilamata Purana:

It is primarily focused on the sacred places and pilgrimage sites in Kashmir.

Malla Purana:

This Purana explores the significance of wrestling and martial arts, particularly in relation to Lord Krishna.

Basava Purana:

It is a biographical work dedicated to the 12th-century philosopher and social reformer, Basavanna, who propagated the Lingayatism movement.

Periya Purana:

Also known as the Tiruttontarpuranam, it is a Tamil-language Purana that narrates the lives and miracles of the 63 Nayanars, the Shaivite saints.

Dharma Purana:

It elucidates the principles and practices of dharma and moral righteousness.

Mahabhagavata (Devī) Purana:

This Purana celebrates the glory of the divine goddess Devi and narrates her various forms, exploits, and worship.

Visnudharma Purana:

It focuses on Lord Vishnu and covers topics such as cosmology, genealogy, and religious duties.

Kartava Purana:

This Purana extols the glory of Lord Kartikeya (also known as Murugan or Skanda), the son of Lord Shiva and Parvati.

Rju Purana:

It focuses on the rituals and observances associated with the performance of sacrifices and yajnas.

Pasupatya Purana:

This Purana centers around the Pashupata sect, a Shaivite tradition that worships Lord Shiva as the supreme deity.

Ekamra Purana:

It revolves around the Ekamra Kshetra (modern-day Bhubaneswar), a holy city in Odisha, India, and describes its religious significance.

Parananda Purana:

This Purana emphasizes the importance of devotion and narrates the stories of various devotees and their divine experiences.

Dattatreya Purana:

It venerates Lord Dattatreya, a combined form of the Hindu trinity—Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva—and contains teachings on spirituality and self-realization.

Visvakarma Purana:

This Purana glorifies Vishwakarma, the divine architect and craftsman of the gods, and provides insights into the art of construction and various crafts.

Vasuki Purana:

It narrates the story of Vasuki, the king of serpents, and explores the significance of snakes in Hindu mythology.

Atma Purana:

This Purana delves into the nature of the soul (Atman), the concept of reincarnation, and the paths to spiritual liberation.

Candi Purana:

It centers around the goddess Chandi or Durga and her various manifestations, highlighting her role in slaying demons and restoring cosmic balance.

Bhairava Purana:

This Purana venerates Lord Bhairava, a fierce form of Lord Shiva, and provides details about his worship, rituals, and legends.

Visnurahasya Purana:

It expounds the esoteric teachings of Lord Vishnu and elucidates the mysteries of creation, existence, and ultimate reality.

Sukra Purana:

This Purana is attributed to the sage Shukracharya and primarily focuses on the worship of the planet Venus (Shukra) and its astrological significance.

Kubera Purana:

It centers around Kubera, the god of wealth and the guardian of treasures, and provides insights into wealth management, prosperity, and generosity.

Saraswati Purana:

This Purana venerates the goddess Saraswati, the deity of knowledge, arts, and learning, and expounds on the importance of education and intellectual pursuits.

Govinda Purana:

It glorifies Lord Krishna in his form as Govinda, the cowherd, and narrates his divine exploits and teachings.

Bhugola Purana:

This Purana discusses the cosmology of the Earth, including its various continents, mountains, rivers, and sacred places.

These Puranas, whether major or minor, play a significant role in preserving and transmitting the cultural, religious, and philosophical heritage of Hinduism. They offer a comprehensive understanding of mythology, cosmology, rituals, and moral values, enriching the spiritual and intellectual landscape of the followers of Hindu tradition.

Editor – Kaalchakra Team

[ Note – Before Concluding anything as a Finale, Please Go through Original Scriptures of Vaidik Literature Written in Sanskrit and Also with Meaning of That time of Language. Because English is a Limited language to Explaining the Deeper Knowledge of Vaidik Kaal. ]